What is Ashtanga Yoga?

Practices available on our “Practice at Home” page

A Message from Sue 


Ashtanga Yoga – 8 Limbed Path

How lucky we are to have this!

I have been thinking of everyone so much and I have much gratitude for having the practice of yoga – and this home practice page.

There is a lot of yoga on the internet and our studio has worked hard to share some familiar resources with you. Remember that yoga is a tool for life and right now, with the increase in stress, is the best time to put your work into action. Part of that action is to increase self-care. Most importantly, remember that if you can breathe you can do yoga. Now is a great time to work on lung capacity awareness and work the muscles of respiration with all the pranayama (breathing) practices you have learned in studio.

Now might also be the time for you to explore some of the other 7 limbs. I put together some favorite ideas, resources and life changers. Please take care of yourselves, do the work, we miss and love you all!

Sue Mickey

Learn more about our teacher, Beryl Bender Birch.  

Beryl has been doing a meditation live on Facebook every morning.  Check out her Facebook page!

Ashtanga yoga is what we practice in our studio.  Here is a brief overview if you want to learn more.


Here are some of Sue’s notes from training that she also uses in her classes.



Yoga: unite, connect, thread.

Remember to tame the tangle of the threads (thoughts) and weave your own unique calm tapestry!



The 8-limbed path helps us to connect, focus, and disentangle ourselves from suffering by noticing that we are all connected.  Nothing is separate.

  1. Yamas: Restraints/yogic lifestyle/moral principles (behaviors toward others).
  • Ahimsa: nonviolence/empathetic living
  • Satya: not lying/speak your truth with compassion (So hard right now!)
  • Asteya: nonstealing, being happy with what you have
  • Aparigraha: nonattachment or accumulation/treading lightly/mindful
  • Brahmacarya: walking with the divine/ feeling one with the universe


  1. Niyamas: Observances/personal practices.
  • Saucha:  purity
  • Santosha:  contentment
  • Tapas:  self-discipline, training your senses
  • Svadhyaya:  self-study, inner exploration
  • Ishvara Pranidhana: surrender (to God)


  1. Asana: discover the truth in our body
  2. Pranyayama: Breath Control/ focus
  3. Pratyahara: internal focus/ sense withdrawal (“dropping” in)
  4. Dharana: Concentration/Single point focus
  5. Dhyana: Meditation
  6. Samadi: Absorption/ integration with source

Stay tuned — Sue will provide a list of her favorite self-study resources in her next update.